Return to Headlines

Five Schools to be Led by New Principals; New Teachers Set for 2019-2020 School Year

Five Schools to be Led by New Principals; New Teachers Set for 2019-2020 School Year


Five schools in the Alta Loma School District will have new principals for the 2019-2020 school year. In addition, three elementary schools have new teaching assistant principals, Vineyard Junior High has a new dean of students, and more than 20 new teachers have been hired across the district’s 10 schools.

 “Retirements, promotions, transfers and other moves have a domino effect across the district, and the result is a lot of shifting around among the ranks,” said ALSD Superintendent James Moore. “It also opens the door for a lot of qualified and eager teachers to join the Alta Loma family.”

 Following consecutive years in which the district has added near-record numbers of new teachers to complement its steady enrollment numbers and balance the loss of instructional personnel that have retired or resigned, ALSD once again has a large group of new teachers.

 Twenty-four longtime teachers, administrators and staff members retired from the district last year. Between them, they worked for ALSD a collective 649 years—or an average of 27 years apiece.

 Michele Rachielles begins her first year as principal of Alta Loma Junior High School. She was principal at Floyd M. Stork Elementary School for the past three years and was previously principal at Deer Canyon Elementary School for four years.

 Phil Suttner, who was the principal at Carnelian Elementary School for the past three years, will move to Stork as the new principal, where previously he was a teaching assistant principal.

 After working 17 years at various schools in the Alta Loma School District, Dolly Bentley is the new principal at Alta Loma Elementary School. She was a teaching assistant principal at the school after previously working at Deer Canyon and Stork.

 Rebecca Acosta, who spent the past two years as an assistant principal at Acacia Elementary School in the Fullerton School District, joins the district as the new principal at Jasper Elementary. She previously was a K-12 reading intervention coach in the West Covina Unified School District after 13 years as a classroom teacher. She holds a Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership from the University of Southern California.

 The district’s other newcomer is Chris Deegan, who takes over as principal at Carnelian. He joins the ALSD after five years as the principal at Workman Elementary School in West Covina in the Covina-Valley Unified School District. Previously he was assistant principal for five years at Traweek Middle School in the same district, where he also was a teacher before taking on administrative roles.

 Maureen Vass moved from dean of students to assistant principal at Vineyard Junior High and is joined by the school’s new dean of students, Matt Dzama, who was previously the teaching assistant principal at Hermosa Elementary.

  Joshua Jauss is now a teaching assistant principal at Alta Loma Elementary after teaching at Vineyard for the past three years.

 Deer Canyon’s newest teaching assistant principal is Jenny Rice, who for the past eleven years was a teacher at Jasper.

 The new teaching assistant principal at Hermosa is Kristin Bowyer, who previously was a teacher at the school.


 The Alta Loma School District’s new teachers, by school, are:


 Alta Loma Elementary School

Brooke Bell

Sarah Kruse

Amber Mirelez

Jennifer Pingrey


Banyan Elementary School

Jessica Canedo

Megan Stammen


Carnelian Elementary School

Alexsis Adame

Tricia Oliver

Alexandra Rezende


Deer Canyon Elementary School

Lauren Steinke


Floyd M. Stork Elementary School

Kylie Guilinger


Hermosa Elementary School

Robert Aguilar

Alexis Diaz

Kelsey Folden

Nicole Robertson


Jasper Elementary School

Sarah Moore


Vineyard Junior High School

Gregg Dalton

Kathryn LeBeck

Isabella Mendoza


Itinerant (multiple schools)

Natalie Mastrosimone

Lillian Santana



Leslie Hitchcock

James Valencia


New School Leadership

Dolly Bentley         Alta Loma Elem. Principal

Michele Rachielles     Alta Loma JHS Principal

Phil Suttner           Stork Principal

Rebecca Acosta     Jasper Principal

Chris Deegan         Carnelian Principal

Matt Dzama           Vineyard Dean of Students

Josh Jauss              Alta Loma Elem. TAP

Jenny Rice              Deer Canyon TAP

Kristin Bowyer      Hermosa TAP